Asset Publisher

null Kelley Poree wins Liskin Teaching Excellence Award

Kelley Poree wins Liskin Teaching Excellence Award

Kelley Poree wins Liskin Teaching Excellence Award

DDM chair Ray Jones, acquisition chair Bob Mortlock, and Kelley Poree (left to right) attend the fall 2023 DDM student poster show on the NPS campus.

Congratulations to Kelley Poree, lecturer and assistant chair for contract management, for winning the Louis D. Liskin Award for Teaching Excellence in the Department of Defense Management.

  • The Liskin Award is awarded to one faculty member each quarter for "dedication to the learning and intellectual growth of students,” and who “through that dedication had the greatest impact on the individual students and the class as a whole."

This award is unique in that it reflects the student vote.

  • Mr. Poree won the popular vote in a poll of resident and distance learning students taken in both the winter and spring quarters.

During Academic Year 2024, Mr. Poree instructed more than 120 in-residence and distance learning graduate students in Contract Cost and Price Analysis, Federal Contract Negotiations, Principles of Acquisition and Contract Management, and Acquisition Management and Contract Administration.

  • Throughout this period his teaching has supported NPS curricula in Systems Engineering Management: System Acquisition (522), Defense Contract Management (815), Systems Acquisition Management (816), and Contract Management (835).

Mr. Poree’s commitment to students extends beyond the classroom.

  • During this year, he assisted three students with individual preparation for the Certified Professional Contracts Manager certification exam.

Mr. Poree is an NPS alum (2008 MBA) and a former contracting officer with the United States Air Force, from which he retired in 2015 as the Chief of Contracts, Development, and Integration Division at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.

Our warrior-scholars nailed it with this vote!

  • The DDM team is proud of Kelley and his many accomplishments, including this prestigious award.