Categories Navigation
Asset Publisher
Donald Abenheim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: European Security, Central Europe
Glasgow Hall, Room 315
dabenheim@nps.edu
(831) 656-2208

Anne Marie Baylouny, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Middle East, Refugees, Crowds, Social Welfare
Glasgow Hall, Room 302
ambaylou@nps.edu
(831) 656-2739

Thomas Bruneau, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Civil-Military Relations, Latin American Politics and Security, Contracting out Security, Intelligence Reform in New Democracies
Glasgow Hall, Room 381
tbruneau@nps.edu

Anshu Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Expertise: South Asia, Insurgencies, Military in Politics, and the Media
Glasgow Hall, Room 351
anchatte@nps.edu
(831) 656-6987

Anne Clunan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curriculum 684
Expertise: International Security, Brazilian and Russian National Identity
Glasgow Hall, Room 391
alclunan@nps.edu
(831) 656-2904

Erik Dahl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Instruction
Expertise: Intelligence, Terrorism, Homeland Security, IR Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 356
ejdahl@nps.edu
(831) 656-3168

Christopher Darnton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 248, 249, 683, and 684, Academic Associate for Ph.D. Security Studies
Expertise: Latin America, International Relations
Glasgow Hall, Room 361
cndarnto@nps.edu
(831) 656-7729

Ryan Gingeras, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Turkey, Middle East, Balkans, Organized Crime
Glasgow Hall, Room 310
rgingera@nps.edu
(831) 656-1118

Mariana Giusti Rodríguez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curriculum 683
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Latin America
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
m.giustirodriguez@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

Michael Glosny, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Chinese Foreign Policy, East Asian Security, Rise of Great Powers, International Relations Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 362
maglosny@nps.edu
(831) 656-3654

Mohammed M. Hafez, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Islamist Political Violence, Radicalization Processes, and Middle Eastern Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 337
mmhafez@nps.edu
(831) 233-0272

Carolyn Halladay, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Curricula 685, 686, 691, 692, and 693
Expertise: German and Central European History and Politics, Cultural History, Law and National Security, International Law, Nationalism, Political Extremism
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
cchallad@nps.edu
(831) 656-6256

COL Uwe Hartmann, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer, Military Professor
Expertise: NATO, European Union, Strategic Thinking, Leadership
Glasgow Hall, Room 307
uhartman1@nps.edu

CAPT F. Robert Hight, Jr.

Senior Intelligence Officer, U.S. Navy Senior Information Warfare Community Officer, Academic Associate for Curriculum 250
Department of National Security Affairs
Glasgow Hall, Room 321
robert.hight@nps.edu
(831) 656-2288

Wade Huntley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, RSEP Academic Director
Expertise: Cyber Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation, East Asian Regional Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 353
wlhuntle@nps.edu
(831) 656-7903

Scott Jasper, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Defense Strategy, Hybrid Warfare, Cyber Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 301
sejasper@nps.edu
(831) 656-3163

Thomas Johnson

Research Associate Professor
Expertise: Afghanistan, Central Asia, Insurgency, Counterinsurgency
Glasgow Hall, Room 359
thjohnso@nps.edu
(831) 656-3190

S. Paul Kapur, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Nuclear Proliferation, South Asian Politics and Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 363
spkapur@nps.edu
(831) 656-3898

Feroz Khan, BG (Retired)

Research Professor
Expertise: South Asia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nuclear Strategy and Proliferation
Glasgow Hall, Room 360
fhkhan@nps.edu
(831) 656-3043

Jeffrey Larsen, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: US National Security, NATO, Nuclear Policy, Arms Control, Europe
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 382
jeffrey.larsen@nps.edu
(831) 656-7690

Letitia Lawson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Political Economy of Development in African Neopatrimonial States
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
lllawson@nps.edu
(831) 656-6257

Robert Looney, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
Expertise: Economies of the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. Energy Security, and Economic Intelligence
Glasgow Hall, Room 305
relooney@nps.edu
(831) 656-3484

Tristan Mabry, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict, Identity Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 343
tjmabry@nps.edu
(831) 656-7528

Michael Malley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Executive Director of PASCC/CCC
Expertise: Southeast Asia, Indonesia, International Relations, Comparative Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
msmalley@nps.edu
(831) 656-2409

Cristiana Matei, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS)
Expertise: Civil-Military Relations, Latin America Security, Transnational Security Issues/Threats, Intelligence, and National Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 352
cmatei@nps.edu
(831) 656-6013

Aleksandar Matovski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: European Politics and Security Institutions, Authoritarian Politics and Democratization, Contentious Politics, Nationalism and Ethnic Conflict, Research Methods, Russia, East Europe, Balkans
Glasgow Hall, Room 325
aleksandar.matovski@nps.edu
(831) 656-7891

LTC Michael "Kelly" McCoy

Strategy Chair
Expertise: Defense Planning, Civil-Military Relations, Strategic Studies, US Foreign Policy, Decision-making, Technology
Glasgow Hall, Room 347
michael.mccoy@nps.edu

Emily Meierding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 246, 681, 688, and 694 (Academic Associate for PhD Security Studies)
Expertise: Energy, Environmental Security, International Conflict, Cooperation
Glasgow Hall, Room 348
elmeierd@nps.edu
(831) 656-2798

Covell Meyskens, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 247 and 682
Expertise: China, East Asia, Modern World History
Glasgow Hall, Room 354
cfmeyske@nps.edu
(831) 656-3293

Clay Moltz, Ph.D.

Dean of IDS, Professor
Expertise: Space, Nuclear Strategy, East Asia, Russia

Daniel Moran, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Modern International and Military History, Strategic Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 316
djmoran@nps.edu
(831) 656-2059

Rodrigo Nieto-Gomez, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: Geopolitics, Strategy, Mexico, Innovation, North America
Glasgow Hall, Room 344
rnietogo@nps.edu

Afshon Ostovar, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Research
Expertise: Iran, Middle East, Armed Groups, Conflict, Islam, Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 357
afshon.ostovar@nps.edu
(831) 656-1862

Jessica Piombo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Sub-Saharan Africa, South Africa, African Security, US Engagement in Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 374
jrpiombo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2831

Douglas Porch, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Counterinsurgency, North Africa Military History
Glasgow Hall, Room 312
dporch@nps.edu

Maria Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Acting Department Chair
Expertise: Terrorism, Counter-terrorism, Civil Protection
Glasgow Hall, Room 304
mrasmussen@nps.edu

James Russell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Politics and Security in the Gulf States, U.S. Security Strategy in the Persian Gulf and the Middle East, Nuclear Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 395
jarussel@nps.edu
(831) 656-2109

Zachary Shore, D.Phil

Professor
Expertise: 20th-Century International History, Foreign Policy Decision Making
Glasgow Hall, Room 333
zshore@nps.edu

Rachel Sigman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Political Economy of Development, Sub-Saharan Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 397
rlsigman@nps.edu
(831) 656-3985

Mikhail Tsypkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Russia, Military Power, Eurasia
Glasgow Hall, Room 313
mtsypkin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2218

Christopher Twomey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Asian Security, Chinese Foreign Policy, Strategic Deterrence
Glasgow Hall, Room 376
ctwomey@nps.edu

Robert Weiner, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Asia, Japan, the Koreas, Comparative Politics, Democratic Institutions and Governance, Research Methods
Glasgow Hall, Room 375
rjweiner@nps.edu
(831) 656-3952

James Wirtz, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: International Relations Theory, Intelligence, Deterrence, Strategy, Security Studies
Glasgow Hall, Room 308
jwirtz@nps.edu
(831) 656-7981

Glen Woodbury

Director of Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Expertise: Homeland Security, Emergency Management, State and Local Governance
Watkins Hall, Room 372
glwoodbu@nps.edu

David Yost, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: NATO, Europe, France, Nuclear Deterrence, U.S. Foreign and Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 317
dyost@nps.edu

Thomas-Durell Young, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Certificate Program Curriculum 245
Expertise: Defense Planning, Defense Management, Defense Institutions, International Economics
Building 259, Room 220
tdyoung@nps.edu