Categories Navigation
Asset Publisher
Donald Abenheim, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: European Security, Central Europe
Glasgow Hall, Room 315
dabenheim@nps.edu
(831) 656-2208

David Anderson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: U.S. Foreign Relations and National Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 382
dlanders@nps.edu
(831) 656-6452

Anne Marie Baylouny, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Middle East, Refugees, Islam, Social Welfare
Glasgow Hall, Room 302
ambaylou@nps.edu
(831) 656-2739

CAPT C. Clark Bone

Senior Intelligence Officer, U.S. Navy Senior Information Warfare Community Officer
National Security Affairs
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 365
ccbone1@nps.edu
(831) 656-6250

Thomas Bruneau, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Civil-Military Relations, Latin American Politics and Security, Contracting out Security, Intelligence Reform in New Democracies
Hermann Hall-West, Room 415
tbruneau@nps.edu
(831) 238-1454

Anshu Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: South Asia, Insurgencies, Public Sphere, Civil Society
Glasgow hall, Room 351
anchatte@nps.edu
(831) 656-6253

Anne Clunan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curriculum 684
Expertise: International Security, Brazilian and Russian National Identity
Glasgow Hall, Room 391
alclunan@nps.edu
(831) 656-2904

Erik Dahl, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for PhD Security Studies
Expertise: Intelligence, Terrorism, Homeland Security, IR Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 356
ejdahl@nps.edu
(831) 656-3168

Christopher Darnton, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 248, 249, and Academic Associate for Ph.D. Security Studies
Expertise: Latin America, International Relations
Glasgow Hall, Room 361
cndarnto@nps.edu
(831) 656-7729

Ryan Gingeras, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Turkey, Middle East, Balkans, Organized Crime
Glasgow Hall, Room 310
rgingera@nps.edu
(831) 656-1118

Mariana Giusti Rodríguez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curriculum 683
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Latin America
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
m.giustirodriguez@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

Michael Glosny, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Chinese Foreign Policy, East Asian Security, Rise of Great Powers, International Relations Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 362
maglosny@nps.edu
(831) 656-3654

Mohammed M. Hafez, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Islamist Political Violence, Radicalization Processes, and Middle Eastern Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 337
mmhafez@nps.edu
(831) 233-0272

Carolyn Halladay, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Curricula 685, 686, 691, 692, and 693
Expertise: German and Central European History and Politics, Cultural History, Law and National Security, International Law, Nationalism, Political Extremism
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
cchallad@nps.edu
(831) 656-6256

COL Uwe Hartmann, Ph.D.

Visiting Lecturer, Military Professor
Expertise: NATO, European Union, Strategic Thinking, Leadership
Glasgow Hall, Room 307
uhartman1@nps.edu
(831) 656-1036

CAPT F. Robert Hight. Jr.

Senior Intelligence Officer, U.S. Navy Senior Information Warfare Community Officer, Academic Associate for Curriculum 250
Department of National Security Affairs
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 321
robert.hight@nps.edu
(831) 656-2288

Wade Huntley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, RSEP Academic Director
Expertise: Cyber Security, Nuclear Weapons Proliferation, East Asian Regional Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 353
wlhuntle@nps.edu
(831) 656-7903

Scott Jasper, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Expertise: Defense Strategy, Hybrid Warfare, Cyber Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 301
sejasper@nps.edu
(831) 656-2913

Thomas Johnson

Research Associate Professor
Expertise: Afghanistan, Central Asia, Insurgency, Counterinsurgency
Glasgow Hall, Room 359
thjohnso@nps.edu
(831) 656-3190

S. Paul Kapur, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Nuclear Proliferation, South Asian Politics and Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 363
spkapur@nps.edu
(831) 656-3858

Feroz Khan, BG (Retired)

Research Professor
Expertise: South Asia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nuclear Strategy and Proliferation
Glasgow Hall, Room 360
fhkhan@nps.edu
(831) 656-3043

Jeffrey Larsen, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: US National Security, NATO, Nuclear Policy, Arms Control, Europe
Glasgow Hall, Rm. 382
jeffrey.larsen@nps.edu
(831) 656-7690

Letitia Lawson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Political Economy of Development in African Neopatrimonial States
Glasgow Hall, Room 364
lllawson@nps.edu
(831) 656-3357

Robert Looney, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor
Expertise: Economies of the Middle East, Africa and Latin America. Energy Security, and Economic Intelligence
Glasgow Hall, Room 305
relooney@nps.edu
(831) 656-3484

Tristan Mabry, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Nationalism, Ethnic Conflict, Identity Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 343
tjmabry@nps.edu
(831) 656-7528

Michael Malley, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Executive Director of PASCC/CCC
Expertise: Southeast Asia, Indonesia, International Relations, Comparative Politics
Glasgow Hall, Room 392
msmalley@nps.edu
(831) 656-2409

Cristiana Matei, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS)
Expertise: Civil-Military Relations, Latin America, Transnational Security Issues/Threats, Intelligence, and National Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 352
cmatei@nps.edu
(831) 656-6013

Aleksandar Matovski, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: Europe
Glasgow Hall, Room 325
aleksandar.matovski@nps.edu
(831) 656-7891

Emily Meierding, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 246, 681, and 688
Expertise: Energy, Environmental Security, International Conflict, Cooperation
Glasgow Hall, Room 348
elmeierd@nps.edu
831-656-2798

Covell Meyskens, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Academic Associate for Curricula 247 and 682
Expertise: China, East Asia, Modern World History
Glasgow Hall, Room 354
cfmeyske@nps.edu
(831) 656-3293

Clay Moltz, Ph.D.

Dean of SIGS, Professor
Expertise: Space, Nuclear Strategy, East Asia, Russia
Herrman Hall West, Room 415
jcmoltz@nps.edu
(831) 656-7660

Daniel Moran, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: Modern International and Military History, Strategic Theory
Glasgow Hall, Room 316
djmoran@nps.edu
(831) 656-2059

Rodrigo Nieto-Gomez, Ph.D.

Research Professor
Expertise: Geopolitics, Strategy, Mexico, Innovation, North America
Glasgow Hall, Room 344
rnietogo@nps.edu
(831) 656-6254

Afshon Ostovar, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Associate Chair for Research
Expertise: Iran, Middle East, Armed Groups, Conflict, Islam, Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 357
apostova@nps.edu
831-656-1862

Jessica Piombo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Sub-Saharan Africa, South Africa, African Security, US Engagement in Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 374
jrpiombo@nps.edu
(831) 656-2831

Douglas Porch, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: Counterinsurgency, North Africa Military History
Glasgow Hall, Room 312
dporch@nps.edu
(831) 656-1038

Maria Rasmussen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Acting Department Chair
Expertise: Terrorism, Counter-terrorism, Civil Protection
Glasgow hall, Room 304
mrasmussen@nps.edu
(831) 656-3673

James Russell, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Politics and Security in the Gulf States, U.S. Security Strategy in the Persian Gulf and the Middle East, Nuclear Strategy
Glasgow Hall, Room 395
jarussel@nps.edu
(831) 656-2109

Zachary Shore, D.Phil

Professor
Expertise: 20th-Century International History, Foreign Policy Decision Making
Glasgow Hall, Room 333
zshore@nps.edu
(831) 656-3358

Rachel Sigman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Expertise: Comparative Politics, Political Economy of Development, Sub-Saharan Africa
Glasgow Hall, Room 397
rlsigman@nps.edu
(831) 656-3985

Mikhail Tsypkin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: Russia, Military Power, Eurasia
Glasgow Hall, Room 313
mtsypkin@nps.edu
(831) 656-2218

Christopher Twomey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Expertise: International Relations, Asian Security, Chinese Foreign Policy, Strategic Deterrence
Glasgow Hall, Room 376
ctwomey@nps.edu
(831) 656-3543

Robert Weiner, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Expertise: Asia, Japan, the Koreas, Comparative Politics, Democratic Institutions and Governance, Research Methods
Glasgow Hall, Room 375
rjweiner@nps.edu
(831) 656-3952

James Wirtz, Ph.D.

Professor
Expertise: International Relations Theory, Intelligence, Deterrence, Strategy, Security Studies
Glasgow Hall, RM 308
jwirtz@nps.edu
(831) 656-3783

Chloe Woida, Contractor

Lecturer
Expertise: Writing, Research, National Security
Glasgow Hall, Room 346
cdwoida@nps.edu
(831) 656-1080

Glen Woodbury

Director of Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Expertise: Homeland Security, Emergency Management, State and Local Governance
Watkins Hall, Room 372
glwoodbu@nps.edu
(831) 656-3038

David Yost, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Expertise: NATO, Europe, France, Nuclear Deterrence, U.S. Foreign and Security Policy
Glasgow Hall, Room 317
dyost@nps.edu
(831) 656-3292

Thomas-Durell Young, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer, Academic Associate for Certificate Program Curriculum 245
Expertise: Defense Planning, Defense Management, Defense Institutions, International Economics
Building 259, Room 220
tdyoung@nps.edu
(831) 656-2011